Asociación de Investigación MPC – MATERIALS PHYSICS CENTER’ (henceforth MPC) is a non-profit research association founded by Ikerbasque - Basque Foundation for Science, Gipuzkoa Provincial Council and Donostia International Physics Center Foundation (DIPC). MPC was established on April 3, 2009, and registered in the Basque Network for Science, Technology and Innovation on April 23, 2009. MPC has been declared as Basic Excellence Research Centre (BERC) in all BERC programme calls of the Basque Government (2009-2012, 2013, 2014-2017, 2018-2021).

The body of governance of MPC-BERC is constituted by the Board of Founder Partners of the MPC Association. The Board of Founder Partners is the highest level of governance of the MPC Association and, therefore, the maximum level of decision‑making. The positions on the Board of Partners, occupied by representatives of each partner institution, are the following:


  • President: Pedro Miguel Echenique Landiribar, as representative of Donostia International Physics Center Foundation (DIPC).

Pedro Miguel Echenique Landiribar is Professor of Condensed Matter Physics at the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), President of DIPC, President of CIC nanoGUNE, President of MPC and Vice-president of Euskampus Fundazioa, the Campus of International Excellence.


  • Member: Antton Tomasena Rodriguez, as representative of Gipuzkoa Provincial Council.

Antton Tomasena Rodriguez is the Director of Innovation of the Gipuzkoa Province Government since January 2018.


  • Secretary: Adolfo Morais Ezquerro, as representative of the Basque Government and Ikerbasque Foundation.

Adolfo Morais Ezquerro is the Viceminister for Universities and Research of the Basque Government since 2015.


The Board of Founder Partners meets at least once a year to review the report of activities of the centre, approve the previous-year official financial and accounting report of MPC, and debate any important issue related to the association that requires a decision or an approval at the maximum level.

The Board of Partners appoints a Scientific Director at MPC, and delegates the daily management of the association on this Director. According to the rules of MPC Association approved in its foundation by the Founder partners, both the scientific strategy as well as economical decisions, up to a certain level of responsibility, are completely delegated in the Director, who reports the activity and strategic decisions of the centre to the Board of Partners. The appointment of the Director is for terms of four (4) years with the possibility of one single renewal for another term. Since October 19, 2015, the Director of the Association MPC is Javier Aizpurua Iriazabal.

Javier Aizpurua Iriazabal is a Research Professor of the Spanish Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) at the Center for Materials Physics (CFM), where he leads the "Theory of Nanophotonics Group" (http// devoted to the study of the interaction of light and nanostructured materials. J. Aizpurua achieved his Ph. D. at the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) on the theory of Plasmon excitation by fast electron beams. After research positions at Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden) and NIST (USA), he worked at the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) as a research Fellow. Since 2008, J. Aizpurua has been leading his group of Theory of Nanophotonics at CSIC, and since 2015 he combines his duties as Director of MPC with his scientific activity as well as with the management of CFM, since he is also Director at CFM.

The combined and united strategic activity of MPC Association and CFM is ensured by the appointment of the same person as joint Scientific Director for the two administrative bodies. The Director at CFM is jointly appointed by the President of CSIC and the Rector of UPV/EHU, once the Scientific Board of CFM has suggested a candidate. The different Boards at CFM are considered as consulting bodies by the MPC Director to implement a joint strategy. The joint direction of MPC-CFM thus implements the scientific strategy of the centre.